[TIME 2009]

16th International Symposium on
Temporal Representation and Reasoning (TIME-2009)

Brixen-Bressanone (near Bozen-Bolzano), Italy
23-25 July 2009

Call for Papers

The TIME symposium series is a well-established annual event that brings together researchers from all areas of computer science that involve temporal representation and reasoning. This includes, but is not limited to, artificial intelligence, temporal databases, and the verification of software and hardware systems. In addition to fostering interdisciplinarity, the TIME symposia emphasize bridging the gap between theoretical and applied research.

Important Dates

Abstract Submission: April 6 (This date is strict and there will be no exceptions)
Paper Submission: April 9 (This date is strict and there will be no exceptions)
Paper Notification: May 11
Camera Ready Copy Due: May 22
TIME 2009 Symposium: July 23-25

Invited Speakers

Logic - Mark Reynolds, The University of West Australia
AI - Michael Zakharyaschev, Birkbeck College, London, UK
DB - Serge Abiteboul, INRIA, France

Tracks and Topics

TIME 2009 encompasses three tracks, but has a single program committee. The conference will span three days, and will be organized as a combination of technical paper presentations, poster sessions, and keynote lectures.

Track 1: Temporal Representation and Reasoning in AI
- temporal aspects of agent- and policy-based systems
- spatial and temporal reasoning
- reasoning about actions and change
- planning and planning languages
- ontologies of time and space-time
- belief and uncertainty in temporal knowledge
- temporal learning and discovery
- time in problem solving (e.g. diagnosis, scheduling)
- time in human-machine interaction
- temporal information extraction
- time in natural language processing
- spatio-temporal knowledge representation systems
- spatio-temporal ontologies for the semantic web

Track 2: Temporal Database Management
- temporal data models and query languages
- temporal query processing and indexing
- temporal data mining
- time series data management
- stream data management
- spatio-temporal data management, including moving objects
- data currency and expiration
- indeterminate and imprecise temporal data
- temporal constraints
- temporal aspects of workflow and ECA systems
- real-time databases
- time-dependent security policies
- privacy in temporal and spatio-temporal data
- temporal aspects of multimedia databases
- temporal aspects of e-services and web applications
- temporal aspects of distributed systems
- novel applications of temporal database management
- experiences with real applications

Track 3: Temporal Logic and Verification in Computer Science
- specification and verification of systems
- verification of web applications
- synthesis and execution
- model checking algorithms
- verification of infinite-state systems
- reasoning about transition systems
- temporal architectures
- temporal logics for distributed systems
- temporal logics of knowledge
- hybrid systems and real-time logics
- tools and practical systems
- temporal issues in security

Paper Submission

Submissions of high quality papers describing research results or on-going work are solicited. Submitted papers should contain original, previously unpublished content, should be written in English, and must not be simultaneously submitted for publication elsewhere.

Submitted papers will be refereed by at least three reviewers for quality, correctness, originality, and relevance. Accepted papers will be presented at the symposium and included in the proceedings, which will be published by Conference Publishing Services (CPS). Acceptance of a paper is contingent on one author presenting the paper at the symposium.

Submissions should be in PDF format (with the necessary fonts embedded). They must be formatted according to the CPS guidelines and must not exceed 8 pages; overlength submissions may be rejected without review.

Papers are submitted electronically via Easychair.

Conference Officers

General Chair

Program Committee Chairs Organization chair Program Committee
  • Peter van Beek, University of Waterloo, Canada
  • Claudio Bettini, University of Milan, Italy
  • Thomas Brihaye, University of Mons-Hainaut, Belgium
  • Franck Cassez, National ICT Australia, Sydney, Australia
  • Jan Chomicki, University at Buffalo, USA
  • Alessandro Cimatti, IRST, Italy
  • Carlo Combi, University of Verona, Italy
  • Stephane Demri, CNRS, France
  • Bernd Finkbeiner, Saarland University, Germany
  • Michael Fisher, Liverpool, UK
  • Tim French, University of Western Australia, Australia
  • Antony Galton, University of Exeter, UK
  • Alfonso Gerevini, University of Brescia, Italy
  • Valentin Goranko, University of Witwatersrand, South Africa
  • Rajeev Gore, ANU, Australia
  • Keijo Heljanko, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland
  • Ian Hodkinson, Imperial College, UK
  • Ulrich Hustadt, University of Liverpool, UK
  • George Kollios, Boston University, USA
  • Orna Kupferman, Hebrew University, Israel
  • Francois Laroussinie, University Paris 7, France
  • Salvatore La Torre, University of Salerno, Italy
  • Nicolas Markey, CNRS, France
  • Rupert Mijumdar, University of California, USA
  • Angelo Montanari, University of Udine, Italy
  • Madhusudan Parthasarathy, University of Illinois, USA
  • Ian Pratt-Hartmann, Manchester University, UK
  • Jochen Renz, Australian National University, Australia
  • Roger Villemaire, UQAM, Canada
  • Sean Wang, University of Vermont, USA
  • Jef Wijsen, University of Mons-Hainaut, Belgium
  • Ouri Wolfson, University of Illinois, USA
  • Pierre Wolper, University of Liege, Belgium
  • Frank Wolter, University of Liverpool, UK
  • James Worrell, Oxford University, UK
  • Michael Zakharyaschev, Birkbeck College, UK
  • Carlo Zaniolo, University of California, USA

Further Informations

Questions related to submission, reviewing, and program: time09@informatik.uni-bremen.de

Questions related to local organization: artale@inf.unibz.it

Organised by

KRDB Research Centre at the Faculty of Computer Science of the Free University of Bozen-Bolzano.