User Tools

Site Tools


organisation:sakt:2013:main_sakt

Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

organisation:sakt:2013:main_sakt [2014/01/28 08:37]
Franconi Enrico
organisation:sakt:2013:main_sakt [2017/08/22 10:30]
Line 1: Line 1:
-====== Foundations and Challenges of Change in Ontologies and Databases ====== 
  
-=== Research School - 29-31 January 2014, in Bozen-Bolzano,​ Italy === 
- 
-PhD students and PostDoc fellows are invited to apply to the research school on the "​Foundations and Challenges of Change in Ontologies and Databases",​ to be held on 29-31 January 2014 in Bozen-Bolzano,​ Italy. 
- 
-This is the follow-up of a successful [[http://​www.dagstuhl.de/​en/​program/​calendar/​semhp/?​semnr=12441|Dagstuhl seminar]] held last year. This year the event will be oriented towards students and postdocs. There will be five half-day sessions (listed below). The students/​postdocs will be split in small groups, and each group will be responsible to organise a survey talk within a specific session; each group will be given appropriate reading material in advance. In the rest of each session there will be survey/​tutorial/​advanced presentations by some of the seniors and many discussions. 
- 
-{{ :​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​change-ahead-sketch.png?​nolink&​300|}} 
-The five sessions are: 
- 
-  * Ontology revisions, versioning, diffs, and non-monotonic aspects; 
-  * The logic of updates, active rules, and triggers in databases; 
-  * Foundations and challenges in temporal and stream data; 
-  * Modelling and reasoning with business processes and workflows; 
-  * Actions representation and reasoning in ontology languages. 
- 
-<​html><​code>​ 
- 
- 
-</​code></​html>​ 
- 
-Please apply by submitting (i) a short statement (as an abstract with a title, showing how your research matches the topics of the school), (ii) your CV (in PDF), and (iii) the chosen topic(s), via EasyChair at <​https://​www.easychair.org/​conferences/?​conf=fccod2013>​ by **24 December 2013**; late applications may be considered subject to the availability of space. The acceptance to the research school will be notified shortly after, together with the composition of the groups and the preparation material (consisting of few papers). ​ 
-Before the beginning of the school, each group is required to develop a presentation using the preparation material. During the preparation phase, groups will be supported by high-quality mentors from the committee of the school: each mentor will advise the groups she/he is assigned to about the quality of their presentation while they prepare it before coming to the school. 
- 
-The mentors are: 
- 
-  * Diego Calvanese, <​calvanese@inf.unibz.it>​ 
-  * Stefano Ceri, <​ceri@elet.polimi.it>​ 
-  * Bernardo Cuenca Grau, <​Bernardo.Cuenca.Grau@comlab.ox.ac.uk>​ 
-  * Emanuele Della Valle, <​emanuele.dellavalle@polimi.it>​ 
-  * Laura Giordano, <​laura.giordano@mfn.unipmn.it>​ 
-  * Michael Kifer, <​michael.kifer@stonybrook.edu>​ 
-  * Tommie Meyer, <​tmeyer@csir.co.za>​ 
-  * Katia Sycara, <​katia@cs.cmu.edu>​ 
-  * Misha Zakharyaschev,​ <​michael@dcs.bbk.ac.uk>​ 
-  * Carlo Zaniolo, <​zaniolo@cs.ucla.edu>​ 
- 
-The school will be also supported by local mentors: 
- 
- 
-  * Liang Chang, <​changl.guet@gmail.com>​ (Foundations and challenges in temporal and stream data group) 
-  * Daniele Theseider Dupré, <​dtd@di.unipmn.it>​ (Modelling and reasoning with business processes and workflows group) 
-  * Matthias Thimm, <​thimm@uni-koblenz.de>​ (The logic of updates, active rules, and triggers in databases group) 
-  * Ivan Varzinczak, <​ijv@acm.org>​ (Actions representation and reasoning in ontology languages group) 
-  * Renata Wassermann, <​renata@ime.usp.br>​ (Ontology revisions, versioning, diffs, and non-monotonic aspects group) 
- 
-===== The organisers ===== 
- 
-  * Jim Delgrande <​jim@cs.sfu.ca>​ 
-  * Enrico Franconi <​franconi@inf.unibz.it>​ 
-  * Tommie Meyer <​tmeyer@csir.co.za>​ 
-  * Uli Sattler <​sattler@cs.man.ac.uk>​ 
-  * Ivan Varzinczak <​ijv@acm.org>​ 
- 
-===== Practical Information ===== 
- 
-There will be //no registration fee// to the research school; coffee breaks and lunches are included. 
- 
-The research school will start at 8:30am on the 29th of January 2014 and will finish at 1pm on the 31st of January 2014, and it will take place at the [[http://​maps.google.com/​maps/​ms?​f=q&​hl=en&​geocode=&​num=20&​ie=UTF8&​msa=0&​msid=102778020508544394485.0004577c02a316da0e2a7&​ll=46.496945,​11.355615&​spn=0.008715,​0.020921&​z=16|main University building]] of the Free University of Bozen-Bolzano,​ room **C2-06**. ​ 
- 
-Information about the location and the accommodation is available at <​http://​www.inf.unibz.it/​krdb/​location.php>;​ please **[[http://​www.suedtirol.info/​en/​Book-Your-Holiday/​Search-Accomodations.html|book your accommodation]]** as soon as possible! 
- 
-===== Program ===== 
- 
-=== Wednesday 29 January morning === 
- 
-  * 8:30 AM - Registration 
-  * 9:00 AM - Keynote: [[http://​www.inf.unibz.it/​~artale/​|Alessandro Artale]] (1h) 
-  * The logic of updates, active rules, and triggers in databases ​ 
-    * Presentations by Groups 3 and 4 (2h) 
-    * Talk by local mentor - Matthias Thimm (30 min): "​Locking for Concurrent Transactions on Ontologies"​ 
-    * Discussion led by local mentor - Matthias Thimm (30 min) 
- 
-=== Wednesday 29 January afternoon === 
- 
-  * Ontology revisions, versioning, diffs, and non-monotonic aspects 
-    * Presentations by Groups 1 and 2 (2h) 
-    * Talk by local mentor - Renata Wassermann (30 min): "​Belief Revision in Description Logics"​ 
-    * Discussion led by local mentor - Renata Wassermann (30 min) 
- 
-=== Thursday 30 January morning === 
- 
-  * Keynote: [[http://​www.inf.unibz.it/​~calvanese/​|Diego Calvanese]] (1h) 
-  * Foundations and challenges in temporal and stream data 
-    * Presentations by Groups 5 and 6 (2h) 
-    * Talk by local mentor - Liang Chang (30 min) 
-    * Discussion led by local mentor - Liang Chang (30 min) 
- 
-=== Thursday 30 January afternoon === 
- 
-  * Actions representation and reasoning in ontology languages 
-    * Presentations by Groups 9 and 10 (2h) 
-    * Talk by local mentor - Ivan Varzinczak (30 min): "​Multifarious Uncertainty in Ontologies: Where we are and where we might go" 
-    * Discussion led by local mentor - Ivan Varzinczak (30 min) 
- 
-=== Friday 31 January morning === 
- 
-  * Modelling and reasoning with business processes and workflows ​ 
-    * Presentations by Groups 7 and 8 (2h) 
-    * Talk by local mentor - Daniele Theseider Dupré (30 min) 
-    * Discussion led by local mentor - Daniele Theseider Dupré (30 min) 
-  * General discussion and wrapup (1 h) 
- 
- 
-===== Selected Groups ===== 
- 
-=== 1. Ontology revisions, versioning, diffs, and non-monotonic aspects (mentor: Tommie Meyer) === 
- 
-  * ✔ Giovanni Casini, <​giovanni.casini@gmail.com>​ 
-  * ✔ Oliver Fernandez Gil, <​fernandez@informatik.uni-leipzig.de>​ 
-  * ✔ Chiara Del Vescovo, <​chiaradv@gmail.com>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * Lehmann, D., & Magidor, M. (1992). What does a conditional knowledge base entail?. Artificial Intelligence,​ 55(1), 1-60. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​1.pdf|PDF}} ​ 
-  * Franz Baader, Bernhard Hollunder: Embedding Defaults into Terminological Knowledge Representation Formalisms. J. Autom. Reasoning 14(1): 149-180 (1995). {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​2.pdf|PDF}} 
- 
- 
-=== 2. Ontology revisions, versioning, diffs, and non-monotonic aspects (mentor: Laura Giordano) === 
- 
-  * ✔ Adam Sanchez Ayte, <​adam.sanchez-ayte@inria.fr>​ 
-  * ✔ Alessandro Solimando <​alessandro.solimando@disi.unige.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Jonathan Bona, <​jpbona@buffalo.edu>​ 
-  * ✔ Elmar Wach, <​wach@elmarpwach.com>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * Boris Konev, Michel Ludwig, Dirk Walther, Frank Wolter: The Logical Difference for the Lightweight Description Logic EL. J. Artif. Intell. Res. (JAIR) 44: 633-708 (2012). {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​3.pdf|PDF}} 
-  * L.Giordano,​N.Olivetti,​V.Gliozzi,​and G.L.Pozzato. A non-monotonic description logic for reasoning about typicality. Artificial Intelligence,​ 195:​165-202,​ 2013. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​4.pdf|PDF}} 
- 
- 
-=== 3. The logic of updates, active rules, and triggers in databases (mentor: Stefano Ceri) === 
- 
-  * ✔ Yu Liu, <​yl12510@imperial.ac.uk>​ 
-  * ✔ Mathew Joseph, <​mathew@fbk.eu>​ 
-  * ✔ Nhung  Ngo, <​ngo@inf.unibz.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Vadim Savenkov, <​savenkov@dbai.tuwien.ac.at>​ 
-  * ✔ Albin Ahmeti, <​albin.ahmeti@gmail.com>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * Francois Bancilhon, Nicolas Spyratos: Update Semantics of Relational Views. ACM Trans. Database Syst. 6(4): 557-575 (1981). {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​5.pdf|PDF}} 
-  * Hirofumi Katsuno, Alberto O. Mendelzon: On the Difference between Updating a Knowledge Base and Revising It. KR 1991: 387-394. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​6.pdf|PDF}} 
- 
-=== 4. The logic of updates, active rules, and triggers in databases (mentor: Carlo Zaniolo) === 
- 
-  * ✔ Emanuel Sallinger, <​sallinger@dbai.tuwien.ac.at>​ 
-  * Thomas Ruhroth, <​Thomas.Ruhroth@cs.tu-dortmund.de>​ 
-  * ✔ Jens Bürger, <​jens.buerger@cs.tu-dortmund.de>​ 
-  * ✘ Antonio Lieto, <​lieto@di.unito.it>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * Fangzhen Lin, Raymond Reiter: How to Progress a Database. Artif. Intell. 92(1-2): 131-167 (1997). {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​7.pdf|PDF}} 
-  * Raymond Reiter: On Specifying Database Updates. J. Log. Program. 25(1): 53-91 (1995). {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​8.pdf|PDF}} 
- 
-=== 5. Foundations and challenges in temporal and stream data (mentor: Emanuele Della Valle) === 
- 
-  * ✔ Miguel Ceriani, <​ceriani@di.uniroma1.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Evgeny Sherkhonov, <​e.sherkhonov@uva.nl>​ 
-  * ✔ Szymon Klarman, <​szymon.klarman@gmail.com>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * David Toman, Jan Chomicki, Time in Database Systems. In Handbook of Temporal Reasoning in Artificial Intelligence,​ Michael Fisher, Dov Gabbay, and Lluis Vila, eds., Elsevier 2005, 429-467. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​9.pdf|PDF}} 
-  * Brian Babcock, Shivnath Babu, Mayur Datar, Rajeev Motwani, Jennifer Widom: Models and Issues in Data Stream Systems. PODS 2002: 1-16. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​10.pdf|PDF}} 
- 
-=== 6. Foundations and challenges in temporal and stream data (mentor: Misha Zakharyaschev) === 
- 
-  * ✔ Daniele Dell’Aglio,​ <​daniele.dellaglio@polimi.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Davide Lanti, <​davide.lanti.sersante@gmail.com>​ 
-  * ✔ Fariz Darari, <​fadirra@gmail.com>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * F. Wolter and M. Zakharyaschev:​ Temporalizing description logics, Frontiers of Combining Systems, editor: D. Gabbay and M. de Rijke, 379 - 402, Studies Press/​Wiley,​ 1999. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​11.pdf|PDF}} 
-  * Alessandro Artale and Enrico Franconi (2001). A Survey of Temporal Extensions of Description Logics. Annals of Mathematics and Artificial Intelligence (AMAI), Vol. 30 No. 1-4, 2001, Kluwer Academic Publishers. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​12.pdf|PDF}} 
- 
-=== 7. Modelling and reasoning with business processes and workflows (mentor: Diego Calvanese) === 
- 
-  * Babak Bagheri Hariri, <​bagheri@inf.unibz.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Emilio Sanfilippo, <​emiliosanfilippo@gmail.com>​ 
-  * ✔ Emanuele Storti, <​e.storti@univpm.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Jens Kohler, <​jkohler@hs-mannheim.de>​ 
-  * ✔ Raffaele Dell’Aversana,​ <​r.dellaversana@gmail.com>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * Wil M. P. van der Aalst: Verification of Workflow Nets. ICATPN 1997: 407-426. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​13.pdf|PDF}} 
-  * Wil M. P. van der Aalst, Arthur H. M. ter Hofstede, Bartek Kiepuszewski,​ Alistair P. Barros: Workflow Patterns. Distributed and Parallel Databases 14(1): 5-51 (2003). {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​14.pdf|PDF}} 
- 
-=== 8. Modelling and reasoning with business processes and workflows (mentor: Bernardo Cuenca Grau) === 
- 
-  * ✔ Nahid Mahbub, <​nahid@fbk.eu>​ 
-  * ✔ Robert Muthuri, <​muthuri.r@gmail.com>​ 
-  * ✔ Stefan Scheglmann, <​schegi@uni-koblenz.de>​ 
-  * ✔ Ognjen Savkovic, <​savkovic@inf.unibz.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Laura Genga, <​l.genga@univpm.it>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * Alin Deutsch, Liying Sui, Victor Vianu: Specification and verification of data-driven Web applications. J. Comput. Syst. Sci. 73(3): 442-474 (2007). {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​15.pdf|PDF}} 
-  * Anil Nigam, Nathan S. Caswell: Business artifacts: An approach to operational specification. IBM Systems Journal 42(3): 428-445 (2003). {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​21.pdf|PDF}} 
- 
-=== 9. Actions representation and reasoning in ontology languages (mentor: Katia Sycara) === 
- 
-  * ✔ Manuel Rodriguez, <​A00805445@itesm.mx>​ 
-  * Alessio Antonini, <​antonini@di.unito.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Giuseppe Rizzo, <​giuseppe.rizzo1@uniba.it>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * Diego Calvanese, Giuseppe De Giacomo, Moshe Y. Vardi: Reasoning about Actions and Planning in LTL Action Theories. KR 2002: 593-602. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​17.pdf|PDF}} 
-  * Berardi, Daniela, Diego Calvanese, Giuseppe De Giacomo, Maurizio Lenzerini, and Massimo Mecella. Automatic service composition based on behavioral descriptions. International Journal of Cooperative Information Systems 14, no. 04 (2005): 333-376. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​18.pdf|PDF}} 
- 
-=== 10. Actions representation and reasoning in ontology languages (mentor: Michael Kifer) === 
- 
-  * ✔ Fahad Khan, <​fahad.khan@ilc.cnr.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Asan Agibetov, <​asan.agibetov@ge.imati.cnr.it>​ 
-  * ✔ Imon Banerjee, <​imon@ge.imati.cnr.it>​ 
- 
-== Bibliography == 
- 
-  * Franz Baader, Carsten Lutz, Maja Milicic, Ulrike Sattler, Frank Wolter: Integrating Description Logics and Action Formalisms: First Results. AAAI 2005: 572-577. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​19.pdf|PDF}} 
-  * Hongkai Liu, Carsten Lutz, Maja Milicic, Frank Wolter: Updating Description Logic ABoxes. KR 2006: 46-56. {{:​organisation:​sakt:​2013:​20.pdf|PDF}} 
organisation/sakt/2013/main_sakt.txt · Last modified: 2017/08/22 10:30 (external edit)