TCGOV 2005

TED Conference on e-Government

Electronic democracy: The challenge ahead

March 2–4, 2005    ♦    Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

Jointly organized by:

Call for papers

E-Government is generally defined as the use of information and communication technology in public administrations in order to improve public services and democratic processes. This complex and interdisciplinary research field requires contributions from different sectors, including the various fields of computer science which provide the enabling technology for the implementation/realization of this new vision of government.

Topics of interest

The conference will put a special emphasis to the following areas:

  1. Improving citizen participation and policy making (e-Democracy)
  2. Decision support systems (e-Decision)
  3. Security aspects for e-Government services
  4. Cross-border and inter-organizational services
  5. Data and application integration in the public administration

These areas include but are not limited to the following topics:

  • Decision support systems on the Web
  • Semantic Web and Web services for e-Government
  • Government application integration
  • Semantic and technical interoperability
  • Integration of heterogeneous data sources
  • Knowlege management, data mining, and intelligent systems
  • Open source in the public sector
  • e-Negotiations
  • e-Procurement
  • Digital divide
  • Social and cultural issues
  • Political and societal implications of e-Government
  • Electronic identity card
  • Access control to information and services
  • e-Government and multilingualism
  • e-Government for small and medium sized government organizations (SMGO)
  • Cross-boarder and inter-organizational services
  • Political and societal implications of e-Government
  • Best practice experiences and case studies

Paper submission

The TED conference welcomes the submission of original research papers dealing with all aspects of e-Government, particularly those relating to the areas and topics listed above. We encourage theoretical, methodological, empirical, application, and best practice papers.

Submitted papers shall not be longer than 4000-4500 words. Authors are encouraged, but not obliged, to format the submission according to the Springer LNCS formatting guidelines.

Paper submission will be electronic, via the paper submission page. The only formats allowed for submission are PDF (preferably) or PostScript. The deadline for paper submission is September 28, 2004.

Each paper will be peer-reviewed by at least 3 reviewers. Reviewing will be blind to the identities of the authors and their institutions. Thus, authors' names and affiliations must not appear in the paper and bibliographic references must be made in such a way as to preserve author anonymity.

Accepted papers will be presented at the conference and published in the conference proceedings.

Conference proceedings

     The conference proceedings will be published in the Springer series Lecture Notes in Computer Science (LNCS). For inclusion in the proceedings, the authors will be responsible to produce camera-ready copies of accepted papers conforming to the LNCS formatting guidelines.

Program Committee Chairs

Michael Böhlen, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Johann Gamper, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy
Maria Wimmer, University of Linz, Austria

Program Committee

Antonio Albano, University of Pisa, Italy
Kim Viborg Andersen, Copenhagen Business School, Denmark
Elisa Bertino, University of Milano, Italy
Jean-Loup Chappelet, Graduate School of Public Administration Lausanne, Switzerland
Klaus Dittrich, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Mario Fedrizzi, University of Trento, Italy
Simon French, University of Manchester, United Kingdom
Gerhard Friedrich, University of Klagenfurt, Austria
Åke Grönlund, Örebro University, Sweden
Pim Hengeveld, Deloitte & Touche, The Netherlands
Marijn Janssen, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands
Peter Kawalek, University of Manchester, UK
Alfons Kemper, Technical Univesity of Munich, Germany
Mario Jorge Leitao, University of Porto, Portugal
Miriam Lips, Tilburg University, The Netherlands
Ann Macintosh, Napier University, Edinburgh, Scotland
Peter Mambrey, Fraunhofer-FIT, St. Augustin, Germany
Gregoris Mentzas,National Technical University of Athens, Greece
Carl Erik Moe, Agder University College, Norway
Wolfgang Nejdl, University of Hannover, Germany
Aljosa Pasic, Atos Origin, Madrid, Spain
Vassilios Peristeras, Greek National Center for Public Administration, Thessaloniki, Greece
Wolfgang Polasek, University of Basel, Switzerland, and Free University of Bozen-Bolzano
Nineta Polemi, Expertnet, Greece
Reinhard Riedl, University of Zurich, Switzerland
Fabrizio Ruggeri, CNR-IMATI, Italy
Ahti Saarenpää, University of Lapland, Finland
Gheorghe M. Sandulescu, IPA SA Bucharest, Romania
Charles A. Shoniregun,University of East London, United Kingdom
Maddalena Sorrentino, University of Milano, Italy
Pietro Torasso , University of Torino, Italy
Roland Traunmüller, University of Linz, Austria
Paolo Zuliani, Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, Italy

Last Modified: Tuesday, 20-Dec-2016 14:28:27 CET